STYLE| THE PURPLE HIBISCUS (5 ways to look Expensive in thrifted items)

How to style a kimono, Thisthingcalledfashionn

How to style a kimono, Thisthingcalledfashionn

I remember back in high school ‘The Purple Hibiscus’ was a must read for all literature students and as the science student I was I had no interest in reading it, though I had heard alot about how interesting it is. I have never been one to read books, I never got myself to read it but I got a chance to name a Style Post.

“Purple Hibiscus is a novel written by the Nigerian author Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie. It was first published by Algonquin Books in 2003.”

How to style a kimono, Thisthingcalledfashionn

You might be wondering why name a Style Post after a flower or a book? well the Hibiscus flower is known to be delicate and very beautiful just as young women appear to be and that is who I am ‘A young delicate beautiful woman’ who knows how to be strong and confident when she has too which is 99.99% of the time.

Asides all of the above, Florals are trending right now and kimono a wise investment as summer approaches, I got mine for little less than a $1 and this is how I styled it;

Take a Look!

How to style a kimono, Thisthingcalledfashionn

Floral Kimono– Thrifted

Black Cami– Thrifted

Black highwaisted pants– @Lushfairy on instagram

Black cuff Purse– Thrifted

Yes yes, this look was very affordable to achieve. This just goes to say you can always look good without spending so much money.  I’ll definitely be styling this kimono in so many other ways like I said Summer is coming and its a part of my collection

How to look Expensive while wearing thrifted clothing?

-First of all, you should know thrifting isn’t easy, searching for the best. To be honest most times finding the good stuff might just be luck

-Don’t be in a rush you have to take your time to find the best, thrifted items have different grades.

-Iron that shii right. As much as i hate ironing its definitely a way to make your outfit stand out and look expensive (except you’re kanye )

-Turbans have a way of making you look rich and expensive especially with a statement jewellery or loop earrings.

-Always add a bit of class, hence my choice of pants. If I had styled this look differently with a flare skirt would have paired with court shoes.

-This purse adds more to this look, can’t explain it

-A pair of nice black shades or this bold ass shades trending right now would have killed this look and made me $100,000 richer, I mean who wouldn’t want that?

These are just a few tips to help your thrifted items look more expensive than you actually got them.

Okay, this is all from me for now atleast, Be sure to get yourself a floral kimono and start styling them and never forget to add that special element ‘YOU’

Hibiscus flowers often add flavor and color to many herbal teas, this is me adding Flavor and Color to your life 🙂

How to style a kimono, ThisthingcalledfashionnHow to style a kimono, ThisthingcalledfashionnHow to style a kimono, ThisthingcalledfashionnHow to style a kimono, ThisthingcalledfashionnHow to style a kimono, ThisthingcalledfashionnHow to style a kimono, ThisthingcalledfashionnHow to style a kimono, Thisthingcalledfashionn

|Thanks for reading|

Till next time

xx

Nayonde

Did you love the way I styled my floral kimono? would you be getting one for summer? What do you think about thrifting? Please let me know by leaving a comment below ⇓

Published by Nayonde

Creative Genius, Fashion Enthusiast, Digital Marketer, Personal Shopper, Economist and Philanthropist living in Lagos, Nigeria.

17 thoughts on “STYLE| THE PURPLE HIBISCUS (5 ways to look Expensive in thrifted items)

  1. Ever since I came across your blog through a link on some other blog I just fell in love instantly. The way you write, your clean theme, the way you style things, everything just flows! I love the book Purple Hibiscus, it was so sad but so well written at the same time! Your look is giving me so much life, such class! I love when people get good things from thrift shopping!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much Amaka, this made me so emotional and very happy at the same time. I’m glad you appreciate all I do and I’m glad you came across my blog. ❤

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Lucky, I love being me but sometimes I love going out of my comfort zone and trying something different. It’s always good to be yourself Lucky 💯

      Like

Leave a comment