TIPS FOR CURATING THE PERFECT INSTAGRAM FEEDS| FAQs

Tips on curating the perfect instagram feed, Thisthingcalledfashionn

Ever wondered what it takes to curate an alluring and very attractive instagram feed? Of course you have, that’s why you’re here reading this rolling your eyes right about now Lol. Okay for real tho It’s serious business putting together a cohesive instagram feed that tells a story or atleast reflects your brand identity. This is me laying out a few tips I have come to learn and adapt myself over the course of my blogging in a fun and informative way. Keep scrolling for more juice

Tips on curating the perfect instagram feed, Thisthingcalledfashionn

 

From adopting a new color scheme to organising your grids ahead. If you’re aiming for influencer status, these few tips which might require a lot/ little work depending can help get you there. Before I go into this you should know;

-What aesthetic means ” a branch of philosophy dealing with the nature of beauty, art, and taste and with the creation and appreciation of beauty”

and

-There’s a crowd for every aesthetic, for example; a feed that features bright colors all of the time might come across as more vibrant than one that uses color sparingly(Minimalist) honestly, there isn’t a right or wrong answer here because each and every brand is different. So instead of trying so hard to fit in, consider your own ethos and be original. In other words “for every creation of art/beauty there’s a crowd out there that would find it pleasing to the eyes.” 

 

 

Tips on curating your instagram feeds? Yess Plss…

1. Know your brand identity

You might be thinking “oh no i’m not a brand just a regular instagram user hoping to earn a few more Likes from friends” or maybe you just want to turn your feeds into a mood board for yourself, and use it as a source of inspiration, Guess what? You’re still branding yourself. Here’s how, there’s a certain way you want people online to view who you are. You either want to showcase just your OOTD, or what you like or what you’re up to, e.t.c. Whatever you hope to achieve be sure to know a great part of your aesthetic will derive from your brand identity. So ask your self this few questions.

TIPS FOR CURATING THE PERFECT INSTAGRAM FEED, thisthingcalledfashionn

2. Conceptualize your content

“Content is king” I guess we can never read/hear that enough. After figuring out the number one it’s time to focus on creating content that is conceptually cohesive. Depending on your niche (what you blog/business is about), its necessary to create content that fits conceptually and would attract your target audience.

For example, as a fashion blogger I want to attract people who are interested in fashion. & creating a personal style for themselves. Hence my contents revolve around fashion tips, flat-lays to showcase a fashion item I love, what’s in my bag and I also create looks and teach people how to style their clothes.

Tips on curating the perfect instagram feed, Thisthingcalledfashionn

Brand- @asos

Tips on curating the perfect instagram feed, Thisthingcalledfashionn

 

3. Taking & Editing Photos

I answered all about this in my previous FAQs, You can read all about this here

Okay but whether you use your Phone or DSLR camera all that truly matters is that they are high-quality and good enough for people to want to look at. I mean ask yourself this question “If this wasn’t my page would I want to look at it”?  Also Editing your pictures right can make a huge difference and following a consistent editing workflow is the easiest way to create a perfect Instagram feed which leads to my next tip ⇓

4. Using Similar Filters to Keep Your Instagram Feed Layout Consistent

Having a consistent approach to editing your photos is one of the easiest way to curating a cohesive instagram page.  You don’t necessarily have to choose one filter only, but limiting yourself to atleast two at once will help you stick to a perfectly laid out aesthetic. Now you can create your own filter using apps such as VSCO, Afterlight or A Color Story  or use the same filter within Instagram Apps.

I currently use VSCO A6 Filter which I am consistent with

Tips on curating the perfect instagram feed, Thisthingcalledfashionn

Another trick: Choose a theme. Do you want your feeds colourful, very minimal, just on a particular color?or would you like to Play with similar colors. While I follow a certain color scheme, I try to infuse the same color on my feeds obviously i don’t stick to one throughout but I transition.

 

 

Christian/Fashion Blogger – @JenniferamaniTips on curating the perfect instagram feed, Thisthingcalledfashionn

 

5. Being consistent

Yes being consistent in posting regularly “Three times a day” is important but you also need to follow a consistent visual guide. So before you post any photo to your feed, ask yourself this simple question “Would this Photo fit in visually & flow with the rest of my content or would it be displaced amongst the rest”? If your answer is No, refrain from posting it. Not posting is better than disrupting the flow and making your feeds look tacky.

6. Content planning

Planning high quality content consistently is key, In order to do so you need to plan in advance. Use a scheduling tool like Later or Planoly to schedule your posts helps with that. Hmm here’s me giving a tip I haven’t quite implemented. It’s safe to say “this is easier said than done.”  In other words I still struggle in keeping a consistent posting schedule and that’s fine with me cause I’d rather share content that adds value once in a while than just anything and everything. Lol you must be thinking “what happened to the delete post button” actually nothing but you don’t want to seem unserious dishing out trash(I mean not actual trash) all the time and taking it down.

 

Perfectly Curated feeds

@Thinkpoppy– sparsely disperse quotes

Tips on curating the perfect instagram feed, Thinkpoppy, Thisthingcalledfashionn

 

@kaykayonyeobi Sticks to a similar filter/edit on her feeds

Tips on curating the perfect instagram feed, Thisthingcalledfashionn

 

@Pepamack– Minimalist who hardly shows her face + uses the same filter

Tips on curating the perfect instagram feed, Thisthingcalledfashionn

 

@celmatique Her feeds are color popping

Tips on curating the perfect instagram feed, Thisthingcalledfashionn

 

@piktcha_purfekt– she has a dark theme going on + uses the same filter

Tips on curating the perfect instagram feed, Thisthingcalledfashionn

 

@thisthingcalledfashionn- Transitions between various color schemes using the same filter

Tips on curating the perfect instagram feed, Thisthingcalledfashionn

 

That’s all from Me

 

Stay Tuned for More, Don’t forget Posts Go Up Monday & Thursday.

 

|Thanks for reading|

 

Till next time keep sitting Pretty/Handsome

 

xx

 

NAYONDE

 

 

Did you enjoy this post? Learn something New? Have something to share with me? Please let me know by leaving a comment below.

Published by Nayonde

Creative Genius, Fashion Enthusiast, Digital Marketer, Personal Shopper, Economist and Philanthropist living in Lagos, Nigeria.

13 thoughts on “TIPS FOR CURATING THE PERFECT INSTAGRAM FEEDS| FAQs

  1. This is very helpful. Thanks for the tips.
    I use planoly too and it’s a great app I’ll recommend to anyone.
    I think the whole focus should be how you can be creative with your feed and do your own thing.
    It might end up beautifully well if you stay consistent to your edits and theme.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Seriously I’m a mess when it come to curating my IG feed but I’ll get there 🙏🏽. This was really helpful. I tried planoly and it didn’t work out. After putting up pictures and deleting from the app it started asking me to pay in order for me to continue using it.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yesss you pay for Planoly after you exhaust your free trial. Just take it one step at a time try to take a bunch of content at once so you can use for a period of one week. Amen hun, I was once lost too.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. This article is really dope. I find it hard sticking to one filter. I mean I always start out loving it but later on totally start 2nd guessing myself especially when they don’t always work with every photo.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You can always reduce the intensity of the filter for the pictures where it doesn’t seem to be working + sometimes what I do is use a similar filter that’d still flow and it’s okay to change your filter from time to time but do that everyday might become confusing if you’re on sure of what to use ask your audience

      Like

Leave a comment